Lena was walking around the Imperial City looking for Hauk. He wasn’t at home, not at the Tiber Septim Hotel, and not at the Foaming Flask. He did mention that the Legion wanted him back on duty, but what would that mean? Perhaps she should try the Bastion.

She found Hauk in the Legion Offices talking to Adamus Phillida.

“I just know it – who else could have gotten inside the Imperial Prison and out again, completely unseen?” – Phillida was saying. “It’s the Dark Brotherhood – they got both Valen Dreth and J’baana.”

“But you are not even certain they were both murdered!” – interjected Hauk. “What’s your proof?”

“Dreth was found with a poisoned arrow stuck in his neck – I’m pretty sure he didn’t do it himself!” – Phillida was getting agitated. “J’baana… he died apparently of a heart attack, but I don’t believe it. Poison, more likely – there was a small cut on him. Not unlike Fathis Ules and Othrelos, and he was Thieves Guild too.”

“Ok, this does look suspicious” – Hauk conceded. “Someone seems to be after the Thieves Guild.”

“It’s the Dark Brotherhood, I tell you!” – Phillida spun around and finally noticed Lena standing at the door. “Good morning citizen, how can I help you?”

“My apologies, I was just looking for Optio here” – Lena greeted Hauk. “On a Mages Guild business” – she hastened to add.

“And you are..?” – Phillida’s eyes narrowed.

“Lena Wolf, Mages Guild Warlock, at your service” – Lena gave him a bright smile. Some titles were more convenient than others.

“Oh… I’ve heard of you” – Phillida softened. “Handled some necromancers recently, have you?” – he shuffled some papers on his desk. “We’ve had some reports of graveyards being dug up, and Traven insists it’s necromancers, but the corpses were still there, it’s the jewellery that went missing” – he smirked. “So unless they are making zombie amulets, I think it was something else.”

“Do you still need me for anything, Commander?” – Hauk turned to Phillida. “You know where to find me if you do.”

“No, thank you, Optio, sorry for taking up your time” – Phillida was courteous. After all, Hauk’s rank was higher. “I was just hoping that with your experience in covert affairs, you might be able to help me see what I’m missing… There must be a way to pin them down somehow!” – he clenched his fists. “But every time we identify a Dark Brotherhood assassin, it is only when we find his corpse! Well, at least they are not immortal – that’s a consolation. Oh what would I give to see one standing before me!” – he glared at Lena and Hauk, then caught himself, rearranging his face in a smile.

“You never know – you might get your wish” – Hauk said, shaking his hand. “Good luck to you.”

“Good to see you” – Hauk turned to Lena when they were back in the City proper and could drop the act. “Lunch?”

“Let’s.”

The Feed Bag had a few people in, having lunch, drinking mead and wine, discussing shopping and the latest fights at the Arena – all providing a comfortable din to drown out a conversation.

“So, you’ve been busy” – Hauk smirked. “J’baana! Right under the noses of the Imperial Watch, too! There’s no hiding from your Brotherhood, is there?” He laughed. “Masterfully done! Better than Valen Dreth, I must admit.”

“I didn’t have much choice with Valen Dreth – I shot through the bars. But you’re right – it was too obvious.” Lena made herself a crab sandwich. “What did Phillida want from you?”

“To help him find evidence in a collection of statements and crime scene sketches. But all he’s got is a string of suspected murders, and even if he thinks it might be the Dark Brotherhood, he can’t prove anything. And even if he could – he doesn’t know who you all are!” Hauk attended to his own crab sandwich. “Completely futile, if you ask me.”

“Ocheeva worries about him though” – Lena mused. “Several assassins were killed recently while performing a contract – or attempting to perform a contract, I should say – and they were wearing our armour, even had some papers on them… Ocheeva was livid about the papers, because now Phillida knows what our armour looks like.”

“That’s the drawback of having a uniform” – Hauk agreed. “Which is why I never wear Legion armour on assignments.”

“I doubt you carry any Legion papers, either” – Lena smiled.

“No, of course not” – Hauk smiled back. “And don’t you worry – Phillida will get no help from me. I am not with the City Watch.”

“Oh I am not worried” – Lena bit into an apple. “Lucien sent his regards.”

“I heard The Ratway turned to blood recently” – Hauk was starting on the cheese. “The Riften City Guard had to call in the Legion to help clear it up” – he chuckled. “Even though the Jarl supports the Stormcloaks!”

“Let me guess – the Stormcloaks do not do the dirty work of hauling corpses out of the sewers, do they?” – Lena poured herself some wine and passed another bottle of mead to Hauk.

“No, they don’t” – Hauk laughed. “The entire top of the Skyrim Thieves Guild taken out! Maven Black-Briar was livid.”

“Maven is lucky to be alive” – Lena noted. “We only spared her because she doesn’t like Stormcloaks.”

“So, what’s next?” – Hauk hovered over the cheese selection, then picked up a piece of creamy goat cheese.

“Lie low for a bit” – Lena turned to a bowl of berries. “Do some adventuring – Mr. Umbacano has been reminding me about that High Fane job that I agreed to do. Months and months ago! It seems Claude Maric has been dragging his feet too.”

“Dangerous ruin?” – Hauk’s eyes lit up.

“Undoubtedly” – Lena grinned. “Although how it compares to other ruins, I am not certain.”

“Well, there’s only one way to find out!” – Hauk emptied his mead bottle. “When do we leave?”