“Hello, Falanu” – Lena walked into All Things Alchemical followed by Fenris. “How have you been keeping?”

“Oh, fine, thank you. Your usual?” – she asked, turning to fetch boxes of nightshade, peony and sacred lotus. “Oh!” She saw Fenris.

“This is my assistant – nothing to worry about” – Lena smiled reassuringly. “He knows how to behave, and he has some botanical and alchemical knowledge too. May I present – Fenris Bero.”

Falanu stared at him in disbelief for some time. Then she caught herself. “You better come through” – she locked the shop door beckoning them to follow her upstairs.

Once they were seated around a table, Lena took the lead.

“Fenris has been away from Morrowind for over 200 years, and he didn’t have many opportunities to keep up with the events.” Lena took a deep breath. “Falanu – Fenris was given to me as a slave, that’s what he’s been for most of the time since he turned.”

A light of understanding shown on Falanu’s face.

“However” – Lena continued – “to me Fenris is an assistant and his condition not a threat. He is going to take care of my alchemy supplies, collecting ingredients, preparing poisons and remedies, and making sure we never run out of things. I have a house here in Skingrad, and he’ll be staying here some of the time. I was hoping he could make purchases at your store on my behalf.”

Fenris sat quietly watching Lena and Falanu and not daring to touch his drink. Falanu seemed to lighten up with every word Lena said. Then there was a sigh of relief. She picked up her goblet and started drinking slowly, looking at Fenris, lost in thought.

“Fenris Bero…” she said softly. Fenris jerked slightly, looking up. “I remember you… a long time ago. You disappeared. So that’s what’s happened… Cousin.”

Fenris winced. “I was ostracised, as soon as the disease set in” – he said. “I have no cousins.”

“You need not worry” – said Falanu, smiling. “I have been ostracised too, for another reason. We can be cousins now.”

Lena felt that it was necessary to diffuse the situation.

“Well, I am sure you will have plenty of occasions to catch up” – she raised a toast. “Here is to new beginnings!”

Fenris sat motionless at first, then caught himself and raised his goblet too. They drank and exchanged pleasantries.

“Thank you, Falanu, but we should be going” – said Lena after a little while. “Lots to do. Fenris will be staying in Skingrad for a time – settling in and all that.”

“Oh, of course!” – Falanu came out of her trance. “Yes, please come in to the shop when you need anything. I shall also gladly buy your surplus ingredients, as usual. Or offer some training” – she looked at Fenris and smiled.