“My Prince” – Lena approached Sheogorath’s throne. “I must speak with you.”

“Oh how good of you to visit!” – Sheogorath smiled. “Let’s hear it then!”

“Leave Dylan alone – he said you banished him when I was gone. After you banished me, I should add” – she glared at him. Lena was not afraid of Sheogorath. “Dylan deserves better.”

“Says you!” – Sheogorath was amused. “You are not the one who created him though! That was me! And he defied me!”

“Well, technically he didn’t” – Lena smiled slyly. “You made me Lord Sheogorath, remember? And I – Lord Sheogorath – ordered male Mazken to serve in the Palace. So it is in fact all the other ones who didn’t come, that defied you.”

Sheogorath laughed.

“Well said, well said! Did you hear that, Haskill? I chose well!” – he turned to Lena again. “But what would you have me do, otherwise? The boy was lonely, I did him a favour. I brought him back as soon as you returned.”

“He must learn to deal with it” – Lena looked at Sheogorath sternly. “Like mortals do. We can’t just be tucked away when things turn sour – we have to go through it.”

“But he’s not mortal, is he?” – it was now Sheogorath who looked stern. “Tame him too much, and he’ll fall to pieces when you die. Which you must, one day! Then he will have to spend an eternity grieving.”

“Or learn to live with it, like we do” – Lena was not giving up. “Besides, there are ways for mortals not to die.”

Sheogorath looked at her, a mischievous smile playing on his lips.

“You are full of surprises! There are ways, she says…” – he looked at Haskill. “What do you think, Haskill? You’re an immortal mortal yourself – by my grace. Should we grant her wish?”

“My Lord, I’m sure you don’t need my opinion…” – Haskill started in his usual tone, but then changed his mind. “I think you should let him go. If he wants to return, he will.”

“Well, well” – Sheogorath whistled. “Even Haskill dares to speak up. Good for you, Haskill! But don’t do it again.” He turned to Lena. “No, I won’t. Not yet. May be later. Come and see me again once you make up your mind – and if you choose him. What is he to do if you choose another? Even I am not that cruel – wrong Prince, ask Clavicus Vile for something like that.”

Sheogorath was looking at Lena with those amber cat’s eyes of his, quietly smiling. Amber cat’s eyes, like those of her brother… Sheogorath wasn’t mad at all.

He was right, and Lena was ashamed of herself now. She hadn’t thought it through. “‘What is he to do if you choose another?'” – Sheogorath’s words echoed in her head. “‘Tame him too much, and he’ll fall to pieces when you die.'” Indeed, she hadn’t thought of that. Eternity was not something that mortals were good at comprehending – even those who’d been immortal once.

“Thank you, My Prince” – she bowed. “You are right, of course.”

“Run along now” – the Prince said kindly. “Come visit us again – and bring some cheese next time. I’ve had enough of yarn and lettuce.”