“You should go alone” – said Geralt when Lena was finally ready to climb up to High Hrothgar. “It’s up to you to do something with it.”

Lena opened her mouth to argue, but Geralt gave her that look – don’t even think about it. She closed her mouth, checked her blade and turned to leave.

“Wait, take this” – Hauk handed her a book. “Just in case.”

She opened it – it was a Summon Dremora spell tome.

“Skyrim is shielded – you cannot summon any of your clannfears or daedroths, but dremoras do come through. It’s best to be prepared.” Hauk watched Lena take in the spell.

The climb started out easy, and quickly got harder and colder. Skeevers were replaced by wolves, wolves by ice wolves, ice wolves by…

“What was that!?”

Lena was flung down the steps with some force, but her iron cuirass kept her ribs from being smashed. A frost troll. She could just make it out against the blizzard.

The troll was approaching fast – Lena hid behind a rock. Quick – think of something!

Dremora. Time to try out the new spell!

“A challenger is near!” – roared summoned dremora. He fought bravely but the troll proved too much for him. Not waiting for the first dremora to disappear, she summoned another. And another. Then… wait…

The blizzard was getting really thick and she could hardly see what was happening, but the last dremora seemed to have defeated the troll and was coming towards her. He would be banished any moment now… surely his time was up…

“Here – take my arm” – he said helping her up.

“Sanguine!” – she wrapped her arms around his neck. “What are you doing here?”

“Rescuing you, by the looks of it” – he laughed. “You summoned me to fight that troll.”

“I’d never… I summoned a dremora!” – protested Lena.

“I am a dremora” – Sanguine pursed his lips.

She kissed him.

“It’s been too long!” – she smiled. “But how did you get here? I thought you were back in your Realm after Sheogorath kicked us all out of his Palace.”

“What Realm? I never bothered to build one – you know that!” – he laughed. “I’ve got a few islands, true, but the real fun is down here in Mundus. You got yourself noticed absorbing dragon souls and whatnot, and I thought you might need a hand.”

“As long as it doesn’t involve any goats, giants or hagravens, thank you” – she winked at him. “I’ve got to go see the Greybeards, but I didn’t expect ice trolls along the way. It’s supposed to be peaceful up here!”

“Perhaps they updated their security, or perhaps it was a test of your mettle” – Sanguine joked. “Either way, the troll is dead and the way is clear – as far as we can see, which is about three steps ahead in this blizzard. Come, I’ll walk with you – I still know how to fight.”

It was only now that Lena noticed an enchanted greatsword on his back. He came prepared.

“What have you done with the Rose?” – asked Sanguine.

“Lost it in a drinking game” – Lena blushed.

“That’s my girl!” – laughed Sanguine patting her on the back. “If you want another one, you only have to ask – I’m sure I can come up with a suitable princely task for you!”

The weather at the top was remarkably clear, without any trolls in sight. Sanguine was taking his leave.

“Be careful now, little one” – he said, kissing Lena goodbye. “Don’t let the Greybeards bore you too much. I’ll be watching.”

He waved and disappeared. Lena entered High Hrothgar.

Leave a comment