I’ve been promised the abandoned house in Cheydinhal for keeping a cool head and sparing them all back then. I was to perform the Purification Ritual with which I would break the tenet to never harm a brother. But were I to refuse, I would break the tenet to never refuse a contract. I did not believe the “evidence” and chose to refuse the contract. Another assassin was sent to perform the Purification, and failed. I had to face the Wrath of Sithis, but it wasn’t my first wraith… Living assassins were sent after me, all in vain. Then the “evidence” that I discarded, was proven to have been fabricated. The traitor was much higher up and he was after Lucien Lachance personally, which of course broke a tenet of the Brotherhood. I was cleared, but it was considered best for me to stay away. Until now.

Lucien came to see me a week ago – they wanted me back. But they owed me, not just their lives, but their continued existence as members of the Brotherhood. Would I accept a promotion? Surely, I would make a superb Black Hand. No, thank you. I do not serve Sithis, and I dare to say it – I’ll kill his wraith again if I have to.

“You are just like your mother. And your great-uncle, he too went rogue.” Lucien hadn’t lied, I received my great-uncle’s will – he left me his sanctuary near Leyawiin. But he served Sithis, and I don’t. I just want a normal house.

“A house? I think we can arrange that” – Lucien brightened up. “The Count here is not keen to have an ugly abandoned house in the city, but we are very persuasive. Plus, he still remembers – less than fondly – Morag Tong from his native Morrowind. I think he would be pleased if the house was no longer abandoned. But would you be willing to allow access to the Sanctuary through it?”

As I am the only member who likes to use that door, it isn’t much of a problem. New members have to earn the right to use direct access, so new members need that route through the house, but I was the last new member to join, and that was 200 years ago. I would not worry. After the traitor used a new member – me – to try to get to Lucien, Lucien has been reluctant to accept anyone else.

“Go see the Count in a couple of days. What do you want to call the house?”

“The Wolf Sanctuary.”

“How befitting” – Lucien smiled.