Later at Olav’s the conversation was light, both Lena and Hauk avoiding the topic of dragons. Then Hauk could avoid it no longer.

“Tell me about the dragons in Skyrim.”

“Well, there isn’t that much to tell. I went over the border about a month ago – just before we met, in fact. You’ve heard about the Skyrim bandits that used to terrorise the border regions, well, I read they were finally defeated – again, so probably not for the last time. But it was safe to cross just then. My adoptive grandmother told me on her death bed that there was something important I had to do in Skyrim, but I never knew what. To do or to see or to find out – that was all unclear. I’ve been to Skyrim before a few times and nothing particularly important happened, so I didn’t think this time would be any different.

“But this time it started strange and it continued even stranger, which is why I returned to Cyrodiil within a week.

“Firstly, as I was crossing the border, I got arrested by the Imperial Legion and sentenced to beheading – although they admitted that I was not on the list.”

“That sounds a bit harsh!” Hauk interjected, although he could believe it perfectly. “Did they at least know what you’ve supposedly done?”

“I was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I was captured together with Ulfrick Stormcloack – the rebellion leader. He was the one they were after, and everyone else – me and another fellow – was coming along for the ride.”

“Sounds about right. So how is it that you’re still alive? Although I can see now why you are not in Skyrim.”

“Oh, that has nothing to do with it. Just as they were getting started with the executions, a dragon attacked and sent everyone running for cover. It was breathing fire and chaos was complete. One of those rebels was trying to pull me to come with them, but I followed an Imperial soldier instead.”

“That seems like a strange decision considering that the Legion was going to execute you!”

“Not really. The Legion is methodical and prefers to err on the side of caution – better execute one too many than one too few – but they are also level-headed, and I figured they’d reconsider my sentence, especially since I wasn’t on their list to begin with. The rebels on the other hand, looked hot-headed, and anyhow I did not want to get embroiled in Skyrim politics.”

“So who sent the dragon?”

“No one knows. But I think no one sent the dragon. I think this was a coincidence and the dragon business is unrelated to the rebellion. They also have Thalmor patrols everywhere searching for the cult of Talos – and that too is unrelated.”

“Yes, we got ourselves in a right mess with the Thalmor.”

“Well, that Imperial soldier took me to a nearby village – his uncle was a blacksmith there, and they made me welcome, I don’t see why. But apparently helping the guy fight the rebels back in Helgen counted as ‘saving his life’, although I was mostly trying to save mine.”

“I bet you fought bravely and impressed him, plus you didn’t put an arrow between his shoulder blades. That counts for a lot in Skyrim.”

“I suppose so. They asked me just to do one thing for them – to go to their local town and inform the jarl about the dragon, ask him to send some guards to this village in case a dragon turns up there. Ok, that’s the least I could do. Plus, I ran into my brother there, and figured I’d be staying for a while.”

“You have a brother?”

“I do. It’s a long story for another time. He stayed in Skyrim, so if we go there together, you can’t avoid meeting him.”

“I wouldn’t miss it for the world! When are we leaving?”

“Not tonight.”

“I see” – Hauk felt that there was more. More about the dragons, more about the brother, much more of everything. Perhaps the best thing was just to let it develop at its own pace. Too bad that Nords are not blessed with patience… “Well, let’s get back to the dragon then. Did you go to see the jarl?”

“I did. He thanked me and mentioned some errands that I might do for him, in case I was in need of coin. Fine, life was getting back to normal. Until a couple of days later a dragon attacked a watchtower causing chaos in the jarl’s palace. Of course they will never admit it was chaos, but why else would they ask me of all people to help fight the dragon? ‘You survived Helgen, you know more about dragons than anyone here!’ I knew how to run away from one… but sure, I joined them.”

“So how do you fight a dragon?”

“How do you fight any flying creature? With arrows or spells, what else can you do? We got it down and got it killed. An I absorbed its soul.”

“Whoa!!” That was something else. It wasn’t just about slaying a fearsome ancient monster, it was about taking over its power too. “You are Dragonborn?” Hauk knew exactly what it meant, what it implied and why Lena needed time to get her head around it. Each Dragonborn throughout history had a mission to accomplish, and choices to make, and none of it was easy.

“Yeah, that’s what I discovered.” Lena was relieved that she did not have to explain what it meant. She wasn’t sure herself yet. “The Greybeards called me, but I haven’t gone to see them, not yet anyway. Instead, I returned to Cyrodiil to get my head in order.”

“And your brother?”

“He is not Dragonborn, if that’s what you’re asking. But he’ll be there for when I am ready to go to Skyrim to find out more.”

That wasn’t what Hauk was asking, and they both knew it. But should Lena drop another bomb by saying that her brother was the White Wolf? Did Hauk even know who that was? Yeah, he probably did. He seemed to know a lot of things…

“My brother needed some time for himself. He’s been through a lot in the last few years, so he came to Skyrim to get away from it all for a time, to get his own head in order. Our father was a Nord – that much we know – so Geralt figured Skyrim would be a perfect destination, a perfect change of pace.”

“Geralt?” Yep, Hauk knew that name.

“My brother is the White Wolf.”

Things were making sense now. The famous witcher was not Dragonborn, but it took more than an average person to become a witcher at all, and Geralt was quite a character. The news of the Northern Realms did not reach Tamriel very promptly, but eventually things became known, and some of them were even true. Hauk heard of the Wild Hunt that was tormenting the Northern Realms, and of the frost and ice that the Wild Hunt left in its wake. They were said to be wraiths – but what would wraiths want with the living? Why would they abduct whole villages at a time? Hauk thought it more likely that they were beings of flesh and blood coming from another realm looking for slaves, and the frost was simply their magic. The witchers would fight them, and it was said that an apocalyptic battle recently took place. The Wild Hunt was gone. For now or forever? The White Wolf was involved somehow, some said it was he who defeated the Wild Hunt king, other said no, the White Wolf was captured and was a prisoner himself, and someone else had to free them all… Whatever of it was true, it wasn’t a walk in the park, and if the White Wolf was now here in Tamriel, then the Wild Hunt must have been dealt with. It wasn’t in his character to run away. “His Nord blood wouldn’t let him” – Hauk thought. “He finished his mission and came to seek out his roots.”

“So what now? Are you going back to Skyrim at all?”

“Yes, I’ll have to, I need to find out more, at least. But there is no rush, and my home is still here.”

“Yeah, in Bravil” – Hauk remembered the effort that Lena put into getting back that house.

“Yeah.”

The publican had been topping up their ale and mead for a long while already. Whatever those two were discussing, was keeping them drinking, and there’s nothing wrong with that. Besides, they mentioned Skyrim – what better topic could a Nord wish for under his roof?

The regulars were finally going home, but Lena and Hauk didn’t feel like sleeping. The conversation still hung in the air, and they just sat there, drinking silently for a while. They were getting more and more at ease with each other, no longer needing to talk.